Authentic Jeans Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My mom has just bought me some Shiseido powder foundation, and I have never used foundation before. I would like to ask if it is better to use a sponge or a brush. I have oily skin, and I have been told that I need to wash my sponge/brush daily; what is the best way to clean my sponge/brush? If it is recommended that I use a sponge, can I just go out to a convenience store and buy disposable sponges? Do those work well?

Sorry for the many questions. Help would be appreciated! Thank you!

·
Premium Member
10,278 Posts
I would get some type of foundation brush b/c sponges can keep bacteria in them longer. A good way to clean your brush daily is to put water and rubbing alcohol into a small spray bottle and spray really good then wipe with a clean towel. Then once a week you can clean them with a mild anti-biotic soap, rinse and dry with a clean towel. A nice kabuki brush would work for what you are using.

·
Registered
276 Posts
Yes definately a brush I wash mine with shampoo and put the brush back into shape before it dries goodluck.

·
Denim Goddess
14,606 Posts
yes a kabuki or buffer brush. MAC 182, stila 21 are nice choices :) cheaper alternatives can be found at places like coastal scents, but I no longer support that company anymore due to questional practices going on :shake

·
Premium Member
10,278 Posts
yes a kabuki or buffer brush. MAC 182, stila 21 are nice choices :) cheaper alternatives can be found at places like coastal scents, but I no longer support that company anymore due to questional practices going on :shake
Please elaborate on this Carol!

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
I def. agree that you should get a brush! The ones by MAC and Stila are good like carol said but also if you are looking for a cheaper alternative you could check out the ones at Everyday Minerals. I love their brushes and have never had a problem with them :)

·
Registered
3,279 Posts