Authentic Jeans Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2,989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for some inspiration regarding my career (or lack of it!).

I have a degree in politics and economics and previously worked at a large High School in the registery dept, but when i relocated due to my fiance's job i had to quit that.

Since then i have managed to build quite a successful little shop on ebay, which pays my bills. I love it but feel pressure to get back in the workplace. I kind of wish ebay had a little more legitimacy as a decent career over here, but people look at me funny when i tell them that's what i do!

So my question is what do you do for a living? What does it entail and most importantly do you enjoy it?!!:)

·
Registered
290 Posts
Are you ruling out grad school? I was an econ major (concentrated in labor economics) and went on to law school. I'm a lawyer now and enjoy it quite a bit although sometimes there seem to be what I'd consider frivolous arguments about inconsequential things. It gets stressful too...lots of deadlines. I do enjoy the writing aspect of it and developing creative arguments.

Before grad school, I worked in pension plan administration. It's a lot of math and spreadsheets, but you should be well prepared with an econ degree, provided you like that sort of thing. I know in the US the ERISA statute is fairly complicated, so pension plan people are always needed. It's got a learning curve, but my econ background allowed me to pick it up quickly.

good luck!

·
Registered
2,989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Snoop!:)

To be honest grad school isn't really an option. With a mortgage and other bills to pay for i need a paying job. Definitely can't afford the £3,500+ outlay for a course at the moment.

I'm in the process of applying for another role in a college in the finance dept, but i can't seem to pin point something that i'd really love. :(

·
Registered
290 Posts